The draw for the 14-team Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to be played in October and November was announced on September 3 by the ICC. Six places at the global event in 2020 will be up for grabs.

Group matches will commence in the UAE on the 18th October, with Group A – headlined by the finalists of the 2015 global qualifier – Scotland & Netherlands – playing their games at the Dubai International Stadium and ICC Academy Ovals.

Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium and its outer ground will host Group B.

Group A (Dubai International Stadium & ICC Academy 1 & 2)

Scotland (Ranked 12)
Netherlands (16)
Papua New Guinea (17)
Namibia (20)
Singapore (21)
Kenya (29)
Bermuda (30)

Group A squads and fixtures here.

Group B (Sheikh Zayed Stadium Abu Dhabi 1 & 2)

United Arab Emirates (Ranked 13)
Ireland (15)
Oman (18)
Hong Kong (19) Preview: “Fight or flight”
Canada (24) Preview: “Out of the wilderness?”
Jersey (25)
Nigeria (39) Preview: “When opportunity meets the prepared”

Group B squads and fixtures here.

The first-placed team in each pool of seven will go straight through to the semi-finals, and will also book an automatic ticket to the T20 World Cup.

October 29 will see the Dubai-hosted finals series get underway with the crossover playoffs between the 2nd & 3rd placed teams across either group. The winners of these matches will book their spots at the T20 World Cup, as well as semi-final places at the global qualifier.

The losers of the crossover playoffs will have another bite at the cherry when they take on the 4th placed group teams for the last two berths in Australia in 2020 a day later on Wednesday, October 30.

The last men’s qualifier event was held across Scotland and Ireland in 2015. Netherlands and Scotland were joint winners after the finals day was a completed wash out.

The semi-finals and finals will be played over consecutive days with the decider on Saturday, November 2.

All matches played in the main stadiums of Dubai and Abu Dhabi will be (TBC) subject to a full broadcast, as they were across the Grange and Malahide Cricket Club in 2015.

Tournament Matches

18 October: Scotland v Singapore (10h00), Netherlands v Kenya (14h10) at ICC Academy 1; Hong Kong v Ireland (14h10), Oman v UAE (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

19 October: PNG v Bermuda (10h00), Netherlands v Namibia (14h10) at ICC Academy 1; Scotland v Kenya (14h10) at ICC Academy 2; Jersey v Nigeria (14h10), Ireland v UAE (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium.

20 October: PNG v Namibia (10h00), Bermuda v Singapore (14h10) at ICC Academy 2; Hong Kong v Oman (14h10) at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Canada v Jersey (10h00) at ADC 1.

21 October: Scotland v PNG (10h00), Kenya v Bermuda (14h10) at ICC Academy 1; Hong Kong v UAE (14h10), Canada v Nigeria (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Ireland v Oman (14h10) at ADC 1.

22 October: Scotland v Namibia (10h00), Singapore v Netherlands (14h10) at ICC Academy 1; UAE v Jersey (14h10) at ADC 1.

23 October: Namibia v Bermuda (10h00), Singapore v Kenya (14h10) at ICC Academy 2; Ireland v Canada (14h10), Hong Kong v Jersey (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Oman v Nigeria (10h00) at ADC1.

24 October: Scotland v Bermuda (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium; Netherlands v PNG (10h00) at ICC Academy1; UAE v Nigeria (10h00), Hong Kong v Canada (14h10) at ADC 1.

25 October: PNG v Singapore (10h00), Namibia v Kenya (14h10) at Dubai International Stadium; Oman v Canada (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium; Ireland v Jersey (10h00) at ADC1.

26 October: Netherlands v Bermuda (14h10), Namibia v Singapore (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium; Ireland v Nigeria (10h00) at Zayed Cricket Stadium.

27 October: PNG v Kenya (10h00), Scotland v Netherlands (14h10) at Dubai International Stadium; Oman v Jersey (14h10), UAE v Canada (19h30) at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Hong Kong v Nigeria (10h00) at ADC 1.

29 October: Play-off 1 – A2 v B3 (14h10); Play-off 2 – A3 v B2 (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium.

30 October: Play-off 3 – A4 v Loser of Play-off 1 (14h10); Play-off 4 – B4 v Loser of Play-off 2 (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium.

31 October:  Play-off for fifth and sixth places – Winner of Play-off 3 v Winner of Play-off 4, ICC Academy 1

1 November: Semifinal 1 – B1 v Winner of Play-off 1 (14h10), Semifinal 2 – A1 v Winner of Play-off 2 (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium.

2 November: Third place Play-off – Loser of Semifinal 1 v Loser of Semifinal 2 (14h10); Winner of Semifinal 1 v Winner of Semifinal 2 (19h30) at Dubai International Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here