No Associate overseas slots in Euro T20 Slam after London draft confirmed

Overseas icons to fetch $135,000 and local players fee to start at $35,000 at July 19 draft, each franchise will have to field at least six local players in each playing XI

The draft for the inaugural Euro T20 Slam will take place in London on 19th July, and after announcing that around 700 players from 22 nations have registered for the draft it has been revealed that despite teams selecting up to seven overseas players, and despite conflicting reports reports prior, there will be no reserved slot for Associate overseas players.

The recent draft from the commonly-owned GT20 Canada saw 5 Associate overseas slots in each squad of 17, outside of the 5 local players and the 7 Full Member overseas. Each Slam franchsie will have a minimum of 9 local and 7-9 overseas players, inclusive of an icon and marquee pick in each squad.*

“We are thrilled to receive several entries for the draft from across the globe. Having seen the interest of so many players in the inaugural Euro T20 Slam, I can already feel that the league will be a grand success. We are also looking forward to welcoming all the franchise owners, our board members of the advisory committee and some of the key players at the draft”, Prashant Mishra of Woods Entertainment, the event’s promoter said.

The boards of Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands will supply the lists of players to the franchises from which to select the local players for each nation’s two teams.

Each icon overseas player will be priced at USD 135,000 while each marquee pick will fetch USD 115,000. The league will get underway from 30th August, 2019 in Amsterdam and go on till 22nd September, 2019.

Each of the six franchises can pick a minimum of five and a maximum of seven overseas players from the price category of USD 80,000, USD 65,000, USD 50,000, USD 35,000 and USD 20,000. Local players from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands will be available at USD 35,000, USD 20,000 and USD 10,000 and a franchise will have to pick at least nine local players.

Each team will have to play at least six local players and a maximum of five overseas players in the playing eleven.

Yuvraj Singh is expected to play in the Slam after being drafted in the commonly-owned GT20 Canada

All six franchises – Amsterdam Knights, Rotterdam Rhinos, Edinburgh Rocks, Glasgow Giants, Dublin Chiefs and Belfast Titans will be given an opportunity to decide on their icon players and marquee players before the draft event. The icon players are Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shane Watson and Rashid Khan while the marquee players are Dale Steyn, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Chris Lynn, Babar Azam and Luke Ronchi.

Some of the top players who have registered for the draft are Ben Cutting, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman, Shaheen Afridi, Colin Ingram and Tymal Mills. The list of all registered players will be released soon.

After announced his retirement earlier this week it has been rumoured Ambati Rayudu will join Yuvraj Singh as another major Indian signing.

The live broadcast of the draft will be on the ET20s social media platforms from 10 AM (GMT) and 2:30 PM (IST) onwards on July 19.

*this was originally expressed as 5-7, which didn’t included the icon and marquee overseas picks.


  1. There are many good players in Nepal who can give tough competion and are game changer like Sandeep,, Picking up any of them will attract millions of fans as well…..


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three − one =